Addiction in Games?

In his Paper “Problems with the Concept of Video Game “Addiction” ” Richard Wood argues that the concept of Video Game addiction is down to ineffective time management skills or some other problems that a person is trying to escape from rather then an obsessive need to play games.

Although I do think that Woods has a point for some cases ,playing a video game for more then 5 hours a day is a bit more then ‘time mismanagement’ in my opinion.In the news every so often I hear about another case where a person has died form playing video games as a result of dehydration or starvation.Anything that causes someone to ignore or forget there basic survival needs is addition in my opinion,plain and simple.For the  vast majority of us  fortunately I believe that Woods  “time mismanagement” explanation holds true.Video games are an escape from everyday reality in which you can become fully immersed in fantastical worlds.So the concept of losing track of time while doing so makes perfect sense.However most people are still grounded in reality whilst playing and will be able to step away if the needs arose.This is because these people are not addicted to playing games.

I implore you to ask yourself this question.Is this not similar to most other forms of addiction?Take alcohol for example.A non-alcoholic can be in control of their drinking habits.An alcoholic can not ,they let it overtake and consume their everyday lives.The only thought in there heads is where the next drink will come from.In my opinion this is the same  situation as a person who can walk away from playing games after an hour or two and a person who cannot.Addiction is addiction in my opinion

I myself have a bit of an addictive personality.I can sometimes over think and obsess about things,most of the time to my own detriment.This is especially the case with college where I constantly worry about projects and deadlines in my head.The reason I bring this to your attention is when I was younger this obsession was manifested towards games.For a  time I would play games from when I got up until I went to bed.I would refuse to come out to play with my friends and I would give out to my mother whenever she suggested I stop playing and go outside.I didn’t realize it at the time but my health and socials skills were being harmed by my obsession with playing games.My every thought was geared towards finding a way to play the PS3.Sound familiar. Sound familiar?

Thankful I’m much better at managing my time with respect to games nowadays.A temporary escape from college work.In closing my opinion is that anything can become addiction if indulged too greatly Whether it is games or any other form of addiction

My attitude towards drink is healthy too..Just encase you were wondering.

 

Leave a comment